Bringing the best of Art, History, Architecture & Gardens to Life

Sledmere Estate

Sledmere Estate is a beautiful traditional English Country Estate where visitors have been welcomed by the Sykes family for over 250 years.

Situated in the centre of the Yorkshire Wolds the Estate is a working Estate proud to employ local people. Our businesses include Property to Let, Weddings, Corporate Hospitality and Events, as well as the day to day running of Triton Gallery, Wagoners Museum and the jewel in the crown Sledmere House, the much loved stately home.

We also take our responsibility in maintaining our part of England's Heritage very seriously.

For information on properties to let, please contact Lisa on (01377) 236221 or lisabradley@sledmere-estate.com

HIGHLIGHTS & QUICK LINKS
Find out more about the possibility of renting a property on the Estate Discover more >>
Sledmere is fully working country estate with a highly active interest in responsible farming. Discover more >>
Sledmere is situated about six miles from the northern boundary of the Yorkshire Wolds Discover more >>
WHAT'S ON AT SLEDMERE HOUSE
Tue 14 Feb - Tue 28 Feb
Take advantage of the free entry into the Grounds and Gardens and have a wander through the springtime display of Snowdrops.
Sat 4 Mar
Dee Atkinson & Harrison of Driffield will be hosting a classic car, motorcycle and automobilia auction in the Home Farm Buildings at Sledmere. £5 entry per 2 people (including an auction catalogue.)
Wed 29 Mar - Wed 29 Mar
A lecture on some of the East Riding Landed Families and their Homes.
easter, lambs, lambing, family fun day out east yorkshire
Sat 1 Apr - Sun 2 Apr
A special opportunity to meet our newly born lambs and even help out at feeding time.
Sat 1 Apr
A one off opportunity to go on a ramble around the grounds and estate to enjoy the first signs of spring with the arrival of the Primroses
Wed 5 Apr - Wed 5 Apr
Rose Horspool shares her enthusiasm for the work of David Hockney.
Wed 12 Apr
Leave your little adventurers with us for a day full of Easter crafts, games and activities for children aged 5 - 12 years. £25.00 per child. Pre-booking essential.
Wed 12 Apr - Wed 12 Apr
A lecture on Thomas Chippendale, the master craftsman and designer.
Fri 14 Apr - Mon 17 Apr
Celebrate the beginning of Spring time by welcoming the newest arrivals in Hampton Paddock and enjoying lots of Easter Fun and adventures.
Tue 9 May - Sun 14 May
An exhibition by Garton-on-the-Wolds based Photographer Kerry Duncan. Kerry who exhibited at the Triton Gallery last year returns with a display of her Landscape and Wildlife Photography, featuring many locations you will all recognise from the beautiful East Yorkshire Wolds and Coast to the North Yorkshire Moors and beyond.
Sun 14 May
Take part in our all new 'Dog Show' and enjoy displays, demonstrations, have-a-go games, enter into the novelty dog show and browse the stalls.
Tue 23 May - Sun 4 Jun
Building on last year’s successful exhibition, this exhibition aims to combine this group of multi-media artists through the use of a line. With Diann Atkin, Helen Birmingham and Diane Malcomson
yorkshire, food, drink, county
Sun 28 May - Mon 29 May
Showing off our amazing County and all it has to offer, including food, drink, art, music and more
Mon 5 Jun - Sun 18 Jun
Paintings encapsulating Yorkshire’s East Coast scenes with vibrancy and charm.
Sun 11 Jun
The whole family can enjoy a tractor and trailer tour of the deer park to see some of the Estate's red deer up close in their natural habitat.
Tue 20 Jun - Sun 25 Jun
'Surf and Spray, Images of Spurn'
Sun 25 Jun - Sun 25 Jun
New for 2017 our Vintage Fair and Car Rally, opening our grounds to all things vintage including market, funfair, war time displays and more
Tue 27 Jun - Sun 2 Jul
Paint, Draw & Print - A collaboration of work from four Yorkshire artists, Beth Coombes Boyes, Dawn Brooks, Susan Slann and Susan Timmins.
Tue 4 Jul - Sun 9 Jul
Taking inspiration from computerised Vector images, an exploration of how pattern, line and colour fuse together to make a whole image from disparate, often random shapes.
Tue 11 Jul - Thu 20 Jul
We are a group of photographic artists from in and around the Yorkshire Wolds. The main exhibition consists of modern photo/art combined with photographs.
Sun 16 Jul
'Posh' charity car boot sale with over 100 stalls, refreshments and grand raffle. In aid of Yorkshire Air Ambulance and Sledmere charities.
Sat 22 Jul - Sun 23 Jul
A chance to see local artists creating some original artwork in the Home Farm buildings. Artwork will be available to purchase throughout the event.
Tue 25 Jul - Sun 30 Jul
A photogaphic exhibition of local landscapes and seascapes.
Sat 29 Jul
Dee Atkinson & Harrison of Driffield will be hosting a classic car, motorcycle and automobilia auction in the Home Farm Buildings at Sledmere. £5 entry per 2 people (including an auction catalogue.)
fun summer activities for children
Tue 1 Aug - Thu 3 Aug
Choose from three days of educational, fun and exciting activities around Sledmere Gardens, Farm, Woods and the 'Big House'. For children aged between 5 and 12 years.
Tue 1 Aug - Sun 13 Aug
The exhibition will contain recent paintings and prints of the Yorkshire Wolds, Coast and Forestry looking to highlight the diverse patterns, colours and shapes to be found in this area throughout the seasons and also reflecting the impact of man-made objects from the present and the past and the effect of modern farm machinery on the landscape.
Sun 6 Aug
Children bring along your teddies and enjoy our teddy treasure hunt around the gardens, face painting, bouncy castle, games and magic shows.
Tue 15 Aug - Sun 20 Aug
Building on last year’s successful exhibition, this exhibition aims to combine this group of multi-media artists through the use of a line. With Diann Atkin, Helen Birmingham, Diane Malcomson and Dorothea Newman
Thu 17 Aug - Sun 20 Aug
The world's biggest tribute band music festival with over 50 tribute bands playing throughout the weekend. Plus comedy marquee, unsigned marquee, acoustic marquee, under 20s marquee and Kidzone.
Tue 22 Aug - Mon 28 Aug
Adam, Speth and the riff raff!! Adam and Speth are returning for a third year this August. As well as their own work they hope to repeat last year’s inclusion of other up and coming local artists.
Tue 29 Aug - Thu 31 Aug
Choose from three days of educational, fun and exciting activities around Sledmere Gardens, Farm, Woods and the 'Big House'. For children aged between 5 and 12 years.
Sun 10 Sep
An event in its second year devoted to everything about horses. Displays and demonstrations, stalls and much more.
halloween children pumpkin
Sat 21 Oct - Sun 29 Oct
During your October half term, take a trip around our haunted Walled Garden, find all the pumpkins and win a prize!
Wed 25 Oct
A day full of Halloween fun and craft activities for children aged 5 to 12 years. Booking essential.
Sat 28 Oct
Our popular spectacular firework display set to music will be back again for its third year. Fairground rides, licensed bar and refreshments available. Tickets will be available to purchase in advance.
halloween party childrens east yorkshire fun
Tue 31 Oct
Join us in the hunted Home Farm buildings for our brand new Halloween Party - The Beastly Bash!
Sat 4 Nov
Dee Atkinson & Harrison of Driffield will be hosting a classic car, motorcycle and automobilia auction at 12.00 noon in the Home Farm Buildings at Sledmere. £5 entry per 2 people (including an auction catalogue.)